The Annual Awards Dinner recognizes and honors law enforcement officers, criminal justice professionals and citizens who have gone the extra mile to make a difference in our community through preventing and fighting crime.

Award Recipients in 2018:

Willard Garvey Crime Citizen Activist of the Year

Fran Kentling


Willard Garvey Crime Prevention Officer of the Year

Officer Anthony Bamberger

Wichita Police Department


Humanitarian Award

Derby Police Department

MPO Rooshad Irani

Sgt. Chad Carson

MPO Chris West

Officer Kayla Sanders


Law Enforcement Officer of the Year

Detective Wendy Hummell

Wichita Police Department


Criminal Just Professional of the Year

Honorable Eric Melgren


Hero Award

Officer Alex Bieler

Wichita Police Department 


12 Apostles of Justice Award

Ken Atnip


President’s Award

(honors a fallen officer)

Deputy Robert Kunze

Sedgwick County Sheriff’s Office

  • White Twitter Icon
  • w-facebook

© 2019 by ​Wichita Metro Crime Commission